College Memoirs Part I – Happy? Sad? Confused!

A few years ago, I had used these lines in a Hindi Debate :

Main akela hi chala tha, janibe manzil magar,
Log saath aate gaye, karavaan ban gaya

From August 1, 2006 till date, the journey as a student belonging to the 2010 Batch of Instrumentation and Control Engineering, Bharati Vidyapeeth’s College of Engineering, has indeed been a memorable one.

With college comes independence; Free from stringent regulations of school life, our wings expand to their fullest and we soar high. (Though BVCOE is no less than a school :P) This new phase of life was highly exciting. New faces, new campus, new atmosphere, everything was just so fresh. Each day brought with it a sense of exhiliration, until, ofcourse, we realized that we were doomed. That first day is still fresh in my memory, as if it was just yesterday.

Looking back at the three years spent here, I feel a strange sense of exhiliration, coupled with relief, and a little regret. Now I realize that time has just flown away. I had intended to make the best of these 4 years; suddenly, they’re on the verge of finishing, and here I am, waiting for that something special to happen. Its a mixed feeling. At times, I’m happy for what I’ve accomplished so far; at others, I feel I could not do justice to so many things I had planned. And most of all, I cant believe that my college life is soon going to end.

All these days I have waited for my graduation to get over, and finally it IS getting over, I’m not sure if I do want it to end. Somehow, I dont remember how I coped up when school ended. Fourteen years of life devoted to a single insitution; and fourteen entrance exams, that made the transition smooth. But somehow, I dont think it’ll be that easy this time.

Why?

I wish I had an answer.

It seems like everyday when I prove that I’m a BVP student by displaying my ID to a guard, theΒ  glass panes of A-Block labs shout at me, “Etch us in your brain, coz you wont be here this time the next year. We’ll miss you, and we know you will too.”

I guess I’ll pay heed to them for now; coz no matter how much confused I am, I’m going to leave them in a few months; and I want to remember this transition.

P.S. College has given me a lot more things to cherish than the ones stated above. Since it is difficult to mention everything in one post, I’ve planned to put this up in parts. This was Part I. How many parts more? I dont know. Depends on what I want to keep with me forever πŸ™‚

  1. “All these days I have waited for my graduation to get over, and finally it IS getting over, I’m not sure if I do want it to end.”

    πŸ™‚

    nice post

    • Prem
    • November 17th, 2009

    Awesome work……reflects a deep thinking mind.
    We all cherish our special moments,, n desire a platform/friend whom we cn share with:)
    Must be feelin really sad, abt leaving college??????

    Best of luk…

    • nidoo
    • November 17th, 2009

    @Hash – Thanks πŸ™‚

    @Prem – Kind of sad.. actually i’m confused.. you’ll get to know the feeling next year πŸ™‚ and Thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚

    • Megha Ronjhiya
    • November 17th, 2009

    really nice n so true.

    • Pranav
    • November 18th, 2009

    I don’t want this to end! I don’t want to pass out! I only wish the last sem is as eventful as all the other sems combined!

    • Puneet Walia
    • November 22nd, 2009

    Feelings from the heart of every college student into an awesm writeup with luvly words to make it impressive….!!

    • anshuman
    • March 19th, 2010

    i must say u put in all memory in embroidered words. i left BVP one year back but after going through your touching description i felt like reliving my four years in college in just 10 minutes..

    thanx a ton

    • nidoo
    • March 19th, 2010

    @ Megha – Thanks Meg πŸ™‚

    @ Pranav – I understand that feeling! I bet you’re having a highly eventful 8th sem πŸ˜›

    @ Puneet – Thank you πŸ™‚

    @ Anshuman – I’m trying to capture as many memories in words as i can before leaving the college πŸ™‚ Thanks…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

